About Corporation
The Centurion Municipality was declared as the SALEM CITY MUNICIPAL CORPORATION from 1.6.1994. The Salem City Municipal Council celebrated its Centenary in 1966. Fittingly the Municipality was upgraded into a special grade Municipality with effect from 1.4.79. Salem City Municipal Limits were further extended by the inclusion of Suramangalam Municipality, Jarikondalampatty Town Panchayat, Kannankurichi Town Panchayat and 21 other Village panchayats with effect from 1.4.94, with an extent of 91.34 sq.kms. and a total population of 6,97,061(2001 Census). Salem is the Head quarters of Salem District.

Salem Corporation consists of 60 wards categorized under 4 Zonal Offices namely Suramangalam Zonal, Hasthampatty Zonal, Ammapet Zonal, Kondalampatty Zonal. Each Zonal Office has its own Zonal Chairman and an Asst.Commisioner to take care of Zonal Activities.
1. Appointment Committee
2. Accounts Standing Committee
3. Education Standing Committee
4. Taxation & Finance Standing Committee
5. Public Health Standing Committee
6. Town Planning & Development Committee
7. Works Standing Committee